Whipping Out the Sharpener

Today was cause for celebration. For I was trusted to create a 3D character and animate it for a five second spot in a TV commercial! Time to clean the drawing board I used for drawing cartoons. Nip half a dozen fresh, clean paper sheets from the 500-pack and get started! Oh yes, and whip out the sharpener.

It really was a lot of fun getting aquainted with the tools of old. I discovered that if I made the sketches twice the size of my old cartoon characters, I had more control. I really enjoyed myself, inventing middle-aged men of all shapes while listening to 70s music on original vinyl :)

I’ve done about a dozen sketches so far, of which half will be presented. But I think I will continue tomorrow morning, to see if I can’t conjure up another good one.

I won’t do any 3D until I know which one is selected by the client, but I will experiment with making cartoon style eyes look good when rendered. I can’t believe how good the timing of all this was, with me learning rigging just in time!
pencil
^ I use one of those, only smaller.

About maximilion

I seek truths and try to make you see them. View all posts by maximilion

Leave a Reply

